$39.00 AUD

An account already exists with this email address. Is this you?

Sign in
 

Legally Speaking: The Law and your research

Judy Russell explores the impact the Law has on our Family History Research.

1. The Law and the Reasonably Exhaustive (Re)Search

They’re the building blocks of any genealogy: wills, deeds, vital records. Once we've gathered records from all areas where our ancestors lived, we tick that off under the Genealogical Proof Standard—the element that once was called the “reasonably exhaustive search.” We have, we believed, examined “a wide range of high-quality sources” and therefore minimized “the probability that undiscovered evidence will overturn a too-hasty conclusion.” Or have we?

2. Picture This! Images We Can Freely Use

Copyright. Licensed. Public Domain. The difference between an image that’s covered by one of these terms rather than another can be the difference between getting sued for using an image in your genealogy report or book or blog or website – and having no problems at all. Here's how to find images from around the world that we all can freely use.

Cost
$39

Presenters
Judy Russell

When
Sat 2 October 9 am EST

Other time zones
AEST - 9.00am - ACT, NSW, QLD, TAS, VIC
ACST - 8.30am - NT, SA
AWST - 7.00am WA
NZDT - 12 noon NZ
BST - 12 midnight UK
CEST - 1.00am France, Netherlands
Frid 1 October in the US
- PDT - 4.00pm (US)
- MDT - 5.00pm (US)
- CDT - 6.00pm (US)
- EDT - 7.00pm (US)

Records will be uploaded a few days later

Where
Join live with zoom

And/or
Access video recordings in my library area after the event

You get:

  • Live webinar
  • Access to 2+ Hours of Recordings
  • Live Q&A with Judy Russell
  • Downloadable Handouts
  • Prizes
  • Special Offers